Notice to Persons Served with a Subpoena

(1) Rights and responsibilities in general. A subpoena is a court order whether it is
issued by the court clerk or by an attorney as an officer of the court. You must comply or
file an objection, or you may face penalties for contempt of court. If you are commanded
to produce documents or tangible things, the subpoena must be served on you at least
14 days before the date designated for compliance. If you are commanded to appear at
a trial, hearing, deposition, or other place, a one-day withess fee must be served with
this subpoena. A one-day witness fee is $18.50 plus $1.00 for each 4 miles you have to
travel over 50 miles (one direction). When the subpoena is issued on behalf of the
United States or Utah, fees and mileage need not be tendered. The witness fee for each
subsequent day is $49.00 plus $1.00 for each 4 miles you have to travel over 50 miles
(one direction).

(2) Subpoena to copy and mail documents. If the subpoena commands you to copy
documents and mail the copies to the attorney or party issuing the subpoena, you must
organize the copies as you keep them in the ordinary course of business or organize
and label them to correspond with the categories in the subpoena. The party issuing the
subpoena must pay the reasonable cost of copying the documents. You must mail with
the copies a Declaration of Compliance with Subpoena stating in substance:

(A) that you have knowledge of the facts contained in the declaration;

(B) that the documents produced are a full and complete response to the
subpoena,;

(C) that originals or true copies of the original documents have been produced;
and

(D) the reasonable cost of copying the documents.

A Declaration of Compliance with Subpoena form is part of this Notice; you may need to
modify it to fit your circumstances.

(3) Subpoena to appear. If the subpoena commands you to appear at a trial, hearing,
deposition, or for inspection of premises, you must appear at the date, time, and place
designated in the subpoena. The trial or hearing will be at the courthouse in which the
case is pending. For a deposition or inspection of premises, you can be commanded to
appear in only the following counties:

(A) If you are a resident of Utah, the subpoena may command you to appear or
to produce documents, electronic records or tangible things or to permit
inspection of premises in the county:

in which you reside;
in which you are employed;
in which you transact business in person; or

Notice to Persons Served with a Subpoena Approved Board of District Court Judges August 22, 2008 Page 1 of 3



in which the court orders.

(B) If you are not a resident of Utah, the subpoena may command you to appear
or to produce documents, electronic records or tangible things or to permit
inspection of premises in the county:

in which you are served with the subpoena; or
in which the court orders.

(4) Subpoena to permit inspection of premises. If the subpoena commands you to
appear and to permit the inspection of premises, you must appear at the date, time, and
place designated in the subpoena and do what is necessary to permit the premises to
be inspected.

(5) Subpoena to produce documents or tangible things. If the subpoena commands
you to produce documents or tangible things, you must produce the documents or
tangible things as you keep them in the ordinary course of business or organize and
label them to correspond with the categories in the subpoena. The subpoena may
require you to produce the documents at the trial, hearing, or deposition or to mail them
to the issuing party or attorney. The party issuing the subpoena must pay the
reasonable cost of copying and producing the documents or tangible things. You must
produce with the documents or tangible things a Declaration of Compliance with
Subpoena stating in substance:

(A) that you have knowledge of the facts contained in the declaration;

(B) that the documents produced are a full and complete response to the
subpoena,;

(C) that originals or true copies of the original documents have been produced;
and

(D) the reasonable cost of copying the documents.

A Declaration of Compliance with Subpoena form is part of this Notice; you may need to
modify it to fit your circumstances.

(6) Objection to a subpoena. You must comply with those parts of the subpoena to
which you do not object. You may object to all or part of the subpoena if it:

(A) fails to allow you a reasonable time for compliance (If you are commanded to
produce documents or tangible things, the subpoena must be served on you at
least 14 days before the date designated for compliance.);

(B) requires you, as a resident of Utah, to appear at a deposition or to produce
documents, electronic records or tangible things or to permit inspection of
premises in a county in which you do not reside, are not employed, or do not
transact business in person, unless the judge orders otherwise;
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(C) requires you, as a non-resident of Utah, to appear at a deposition or to
produce documents, electronic records or tangible things or to permit inspection
of premises in a county other than the county in which you were served, unless
the judge orders otherwise;

(D) requires you to disclose privileged or other protected matter and no exception
or waiver applies;

(E) requires you to disclose a trade secret or other confidential research,
development, or commercial information;

(F) subjects you to an undue burden; or

(G) requires you to disclose an unretained expert's opinion or information not
describing specific events or occurrences in dispute and resulting from the
expert's study that was not made at the request of a party.

(7) How to object. To object to the subpoena, serve the Objection to Subpoena on the
party or attorney issuing the subpoena. The name and address of that person should
appear in the upper left corner of the subpoena. You must do this before the date for
compliance. An Objection to Subpoena form is part of this Notice; you may need to
modify it to fit your circumstances. Once you have filed the objection, do not comply with
the subpoena unless ordered to do so by the court.

(8) Motion to compel. After you make a timely written objection, the party or attorney
issuing the subpoena might serve you with a motion for an order to compel you to
comply and notice of a court hearing. That motion will be reviewed by a judge. You have
the right to file a response to the motion, to attend the hearing, and to be heard. You
have the right to be represented by a lawyer. If the judge grants the motion, you may
ask the judge to impose conditions to protect you.

(9) Organizations. An organization that is not a party to the suit and is subpoenaed to
appear at a deposition must designate one or more persons to testify on its behalf. The
organization may set forth the matters on which each person will testify. URCP 30(b)(6).
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http://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/urcp030.html

